What It Is: The percentage of email subscribers that received and opened your email.
How to calculate it: (Number of subscribers who open your email / total number of subscribers on your list (whom you sent your email)) * multiply by 100
Example: (500 people opened your email, divided by 1000 people subscribed on your email list who received your email = 50% open rate.
What It Is: The percentage of subscribers who received your email but unsubscribed from your send list after opening a given email.
How to calculate it: (taking the total number of unsubscribes from your newsletter and divide by the total number of emails that were actually delivered) * multiply by 100.
Example: 5 people unsubscribed from your email, divided by 1000 people who received your email = 0,5 % unsubscribe rate
What It Is: The percentage of subscribers who received your email and who clicked on one or more links contained in a given email.
How to Calculate It: (Total clicks OR unique clicks ÷ Number of delivered emails) * 100
Example: 500 total clicks ÷ 10,000 delivered emails * 100 = 5% click rate
- What It Is: The percentage of subscribers who received your email, who clicked on a link within an email and completed a desired action, such as filling out a lead generation form or purchasing a product.
- How to Calculate It: (Number of people who completed the desired action ÷ Number of total emails delivered) * multiply by 100
- Example: 400 people who completed the desired action ÷ 10,000 total email delivered 100 = 4% conversion rate
- What It Is: The percentage of your total emails sent that could not be successfully delivered to the recipient's inbox.
- How to Calculate It: (Total number of bounced emails ÷ Number of emails sent) * 100
- Example: 75 bounced emails ÷ 10,000 total emails sent * 100 = 0.75% bounce rate
List Growth Rate
- What It Is: The rate at which your email list is growing.
- How to Calculate It: ((Number of new subscribers) minus (Number of unsubscribes + email/spam complaints) ÷ Total number of email addresses on your list) * multiply by 100
- Example: (500 new subscribers - 100 unsubscribes and email/spam complaints) ÷ 10,000 email addresses on the list * 100 = 4% list growth rate
- What It Is: The overall return on investment for your email campaigns. In other words, total revenue divided by total spent.
- How to Calculate It: [($ you made from sales minus $ invested in the campaign) ÷ $ invested in the campaign] * 100
- Example: ($1,000 in additional sales - $100 invested in the campaign / $100 invested in the campaign) * 100 = a 900% return on investment from the campaign
- delete, archive or unsubscribe un-engaged subscribers, who rarely open or never opens your email.
- delete hard bounce contacts from your email list immediately, so you won't result as a spammer in the eyes of ISP (internet service providers)
- know your numbers but don’t get crazy 🙂 based on your statistics, just focus your energy on where it matters.